Old, Female and Homeless

Please read the whole article. One thing that is sort of wrong with the article is that it portrays elderly homeless women as something new. I remember hearing about “bag ladies” even as a child. The city was also full of ratty nasty Single Room Occupancy hotels that all closed down to create other structures and housing. I think there are maybe 3 left in town and some motels on the outskirts of town. I even stayed in one once when I had an argument with the parents in college. Horrible. With the way things are going around here I bet I’m gonna be a bag lady before long. Women of a “certain age” become expendable if not married and/or working.

Leave a Reply

