Twenty….exploding hyperbole on an OBJECT

Tell us the story of your most-prized possession.

It’s the final day of the challenge already?! Let’s make sure we end it with a bang — or, in our case, with some furious collective tapping on our keyboards. For this final assignment, lead us through the history of an object that bears a special meaning to you.

A family heirloom, a flea market find, a childhood memento — all are fair game. What matters is that, through your writing, you breathe life into that object, moving your readers enough to understand its value.

Today’s twist: We extolled the virtues of brevity back on day five, but now, let’s jump to the other side of the spectrum and turn to longform writing. Let’s celebrate the drawn-out, slowly cooked, wide-shot narrative.

How long is long? That’s entirely up to you to decide. You can go with a set number — 750, 1000, or 2000 words, or more (or less!). Alternatively, you could choose your longest post thus far in the challenge, and raise the bar by, say, 300 words, 20 percent, three paragraphs — whatever works for you.

 

I’ve went through my apartment to look for the one MOST valuable thing but found nothing.

My grandmother’s old table is a memory back to the times when my sister and I went to her house to go off the JCC pool all day. We’d sit and have breakfast before setting out.

My grandmother’s two vases and candy dish graced her parlor and I have memories of out of town guests joining us there and sitting on the plastic covered furniture.  It was light blue.  A sofa and two grand chairs.  But that is not it.

My dying phone is pretty valuable for obvious reasons and I pay plenty per month just to keep it on.  But that’s not it.

My fans are nice in summer especially late at night when the air cools and I can try and bring it in:  but no.

My semi elderly computer is ok and I use it a lot but if a miracle happened I could get a newer version of a computer and also faster browsing.  That’s not it.

My Bible is getting marked up and torn apart.  Sure, I use it a lot, but at least for now, a Bible can be had in most any store.  When the time comes that Bibles are illegal or hard to come by any Bible will be precious.

My Mp3 player is nice but aging as well.  One day I will replace it, but, the store that sold this kind does not seem to have it anymore.  Just a few paltry other ones in brands I don’t know.  I might have to get a piece of junk next time or spend for an ipod.

The few tables in this house have history.  Two of them come from my deceased father’s old office.  I got the bookshelf from the ex daughter in law in the previous post.  The 2 bureaus are from the previous tenant who had to leave fast to go into rehab.  He does not miss it but my few raggedy clothes are in there and in the dusty awkward closet.  I bought a simple dress lately.  I might need it in the near future, I may not.

I could not live without my fridge and stove or elderly washer and drier.  Life at the Laundromat is hell for a target.

My computer table is very useful but shows signs of wear as do the other wooden things in the house.

I use a comforter my sister used in her teens.  It is falling apart and would look better on the back of a bum.

Nothing in this apt is so valuable that I would not part with it if I had to.  Even my worthless college degree.  I am planning on burning it soon.  The other certificates of uselessness and my GED can burn as well.

I have two letters from my mother.  I value them pretty much.  She wrote kind letters to me when I tried to live away from town.  I have a huge wedding photo of my mother and a portrait.  This is the last of my mother I have.  I value it.

The most valuable “thing” in this apartment is not a thing at all.  It’s my cat, of course.  Without the cat, the apartment would not be a home at all.  It would just be a place I stay at and hate.  She wakes me up in the morning and lets me know she loves me throughout the day.  She is mischievous but fun.  She can catch mice too.

They were letting her die at the shelter.  She had become too sick to eat and no one noticed she had become a bag of bones.  They let me take her home that way and she was just sitting sullenly and would not eat.  I took her back to their hospital to get her better because they guaranteed a healthy animal.  She was there over a week getting antibiotics and lots of other things.  After a week they were force feeding her so she could eat but she would not eat on her own.  They asked me if I wanted another cat.  I  said no and please teach me to force feed her.

When I took her home she weighed about 5 1/2 pounds.  Just a sack of skin.  I brought the prescription food they gave me and mixed it up a bit with warm water and filled a syringe.  I put the syringe to her mouth and she was licking eagerly at it as if she would rather eat!  I nudged her towards the bowl and rest they say is history.

Today she weighs a little over 11 pounds, a bit overweight, but not huge.  She is healthy but a bit clumsy at times and seems to have allergies.  She has been in a couple of cat fights when she was allowed to run around but now she hasn’t had a bite to treat lately.

The vet likes her thankfully.  Going out there is 2 hours on the bus…with perps.  Her weight and the weight of the carrier wear me out.  The bus stop is a long way from the door to the vets.

Since I have no children at all she is like my child.  I don’t have lots of money to spend on her but I get her needs met.  I worry about the future when she gets older and gets health problems.  I will not be able to afford expensive operations or procedures.  Meds I could probably fit into my budget if I skimped somewhere else.  My sister was able to give one of her cats a lifesaving operation for thousands of dollars and I cannot.

I don’t know how much cat insurance costs or what it will cover.

The best thing about my little cat is that she keeps me from being focused on myself all the time.

My longest post was “18” and I doubt I can pass it with this post.

So I’ll keep it short and sweet like my cat.

Leave a Reply

