Natural Fireworks

Tell us about a time when you were left on your own, to fend for yourself in an overwhelming situation — on the job, at home, at school.

I was caught alone on July 4 (another time) when severe thunderstorms arrived and I was far away from the bus, yet again on the same street that I got caught on during a winter walk. I tried pressing myself against buildings to stay dry and watched lightning flash across the sky.

At first I was at the park caught in a picnic shelter that was not adequate with 10 or so other people. I left when the rain stopped to avoid being caught out at night but ended up stuck anyway since it was so far to the bus.  The one that got me to the park had stopped running.  It was Sunday to boot. One storm after another came over me. A mile or so away, I went to Mickey D’s for coffee to get out of the rain a little then had to head on.  That was when it got bad with heavy rain and lightning.

I had to stop at a bar to go to the bathroom and I must have looked a sight.

Finally, I made it wet and cold to the same bus shelter. The bus came and I went home and determined to never go to July 4th fireworks alone again (after this and the other situation of the missed bus and the long walk).

Bad stuff always happens on that side of town when I go.  It has an evil vibe.

One thought on “Natural Fireworks

Leave a Reply

