No Puter?

Your life without a computer: what does it look like?

Way back in 1991 when I “moved out” from home I not only had no computer, I had no TV. I would read a lot and listen to hours of talk radio before bed. I especially liked the man who did his show after midnight.  Later on, I would listen to Air America (the perps forbade that EVENTUALLY LOL) and listen to Mike McCoy? take down all the neocons.

My first birthday after leaving home I got voila! a TV.  After that, I would watch some TV but not all the time.  I still had time for books and endless music listening at top sound. And eating.  I’d go out and buy food to binge on at night when the store was closer.  I watched Oprah, 90210, Dharma and Greg, ER, and the Saturday cooking shows along with Masterpiece Theatre and Are You Being Served?  Later on I got hooked on CSI type shows and HSN.

I was never on the Internet until 1997 and I put something into a search engine about diet guru Susan Powter (what happened to her?) and got a satanists web page as a result.  It confirmed my fears:  the Internet was invented by satan.

A few years later I got an email address for the first time (no home puter yet) and found there were just as many Christian Sites (if not more) on the Web than the bad guys had.  Good, now the Web was Converting the Masses.  Later, I found out it had a bit of everything and I was hooked.  I lost it laughing at James Lileks Institute of Official Cheer food section and almost got kicked out of the computer center where I was.

I had an email account and one pen pal that lasted about a year or less.

In very early 2005 I finally admitted it to myself I was a ti.  After spending hours at the library computers (unlimited at the time) and at a friend’s computer I finally got hooked up at home to join Yahoo mailing groups like Mulitstalk.  I learned to Instant Message as well.  I was hooked.  I started a blog right away on another platform then another three before settling on WordPress in 2007. I ran that Blog until 2011 then I took a break until this February. I am now a computer addict since I have little to do otherwise.  The perps even limit my BOOK reading to 50 pages a day.  I used to enjoy very long days at the park with books and snacks from home (when broke) and fattening crap from 7-11 (when not broke).  I got a long walk in as well.  I was also on supplements and no psych drugs.  I felt younger than I had in years and much stronger.  No more moaning and groaning moving around.

Did I answer the question?  What would I do if there were no more computers?  When my first computer broke I’d haunt libraries but it was not a great fix.  If there were NO computers at all the surveillance grid might go down and I might be free of V2k.  I definitely would want to read more.  I’d probably listen to more radio.  After my operation, I could not sit for long and sat in bed listening to hours of Dr Laura (who is no longer around–got taken down for saying a semi racial thing, sort of like Paula Deen) and also Coast to Coast since I got only little sleep until I could lie all the way down.  I really loved Dr. Laura and want to know who the little twit was that took her down.  Laura was abrasive and insulting along with giving good advice:  what on Earth did she say?

I could not go back to my Heavy Metal for music and if the computer were down I could not download songs.  I’d have to carry a transistor like a crazy old man. Maybe I’d get a metal detector to pick up old pennies all day and wear white slacks and mumble to myself.  I should have kept my old walkman that played tapes.  Who sells tapes anymore though?  NO TV, no computer, no MP3, I’d have to get a job.

I’d be flipping burgers listening to Paul Harvey tell THE REST OF THE STORY.

5 thoughts on “No Puter?

Leave a Reply

