Beach, mountain, forest, or somewhere else entirely?

In this dry and barren climate they have narrowed the “river” which is a mere trickle compared to a real river, to make “waterfalls” for kayakers and “scenery” for bicyclists.  I sometimes visit this waterfall.  I used to spend an inordinate amount of time there.  It was best in Spring and early Summer when at least there was a SMALL amount of runoff water from the snow above.  I’d hang out there with whatever book I was reading or music I was listening to and let the sound of water sooth me even though I’d hear the ever present V2k over it.  A railroad bridge ran over it and sometimes the trains, sometimes very long trains would run over it.  I would look at all the graffiti on the boxcars as they went by.  Sometimes the graffiti spoke louder than the words of the “people” in this country.  I’d see bits and pieces of dissatisfaction as the train went by.  Not the sheepish acceptance of the “new normal”, or “let’s solve this problem within accepted channels” pure nonsense.  At first, I’d wave at the man in the caboose car as it went by until I realized that they were perps as well.  Later, the engine car would sit over the bridge and the man in the caboose would sit and stare at me.

It has been awhile since I’ve been there as the drought conditions have been epic and there is no water in the “river” that really is no river at all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

